h1

Belgium: Waffles, Fries, and Chocolate

September 10, 2010

After London we went on to Belgium, starting with Brussels.  Have to say, not a big fan.  Dirty, and covered in graffiti, and just… gray.  The sky was gray, the buildings were gray, people even dressed in gray.  That’s not to say it was all bad, there were some beautiful buildings in the center square, and the famous chocolatery Neuhaus was so delicious.  I’ve eaten a lot of chocolate in my lifetime, and I mean A LOT, but I seriously think this was the best.

By far the best part of Brussels were the spontaneous things.  After leaving the square we walked by a huge church and decided to check it out.  We determined that it was the Cathedral de St. Michel et St. Gudule, and it was absolutely gorgeous, as so many churches here are.  As we were leaving, I stopped to see if there was anything explaining the lives of the saints while Tiffany walked out.  I then saw a gate leading underground, and a sign that said & Euro and had a picture of some sort of tunnel.  I obviously had to go.  I ran out to get Tiff, and we walked down into an underground tunnel that held the ruins from the ancient church that had been on this same site.  It had been discovered a few years ago during remodeling, and was just fascinating.

We went on to Bruges then, and it was so adorable.  I don’t even care if it’s just for tourists, it was beautiful.  It looks like Belle’s town when she wakes up and sings at the beginning of Beauty and the Beast (anyone? anyone?)  We rented bikes and rode along the river past windmills and over bridges.  The bikes were a wonderful break from all the walking we’ve been doing, though there was more than one point I thought I might die, sometimes  by bus, sometimes just through the combination of cobblestones and my own lack of coordination.  We climbed the tower int he center of town, and the view was stunning. Then we rewarded ourselves with waffles and fries for lunch, and bought some more chocolate.  It was just a great relaxing day.  We also loved getting to know our roommates, especially Vivian. She was from Japan, and didn’t really know anyone, but was just the sweetest girl.  We all had breakfast together, and it is so neat to hear other people’s experiences.  Did you know college is free in Sweden?! Why didn’t I live there.  All in all, loved Belgiun (well, Bruges anyway). Next up, France!

One comment

  1. So I laughed out loud when I saw the title of this post, because it was EXACTLY my experience with Belgium – waffles, fries, and chocolate. Seriously so good. And I’m glad you loved Bruges…it was one of my favorite places in Europe, and totally reminded me of a scene from Beauty in the Beast.

    Loving the tales of your adventures…keep ’em coming!



Leave a Reply

